A short beginning to a story I wrote called “Off”

3 seconds. That’s how long I allowed fear take control of me. When the shock subsided I slowly examined my surroundings. I have blood on my hands and James is in a heap lying on the floor and there are four other men dressed in black scattered in bloody piles in various places in the room. Next to me there is a bloody combat knife and fear threatened to take over me again. I needed to get me and James out of here. I desperately wanted to move but it was like my body was cemented to the floor. There was a sharp pain in my side, when I went to feel it my hand came back covered in dark blood. My head lolled to the side and things started getting blurry, how did this happen to me? I had the dream life, perfect husband, and everything I ever needed. Until now.

Leave a Reply

